Why selecting videos for VideoTag is not as easy as you’d think.

I am warming up to working today – actually I’ve already written some notes and it’s only 10.00, so I thought I deserved a break. I have realised I have been neglecting the blogosphere and so subscribed to feeds from some of the most respected web2.0 blogs. Anyway looking at readwriteweb I saw this article, top 10 youtube videos of all time, which I found interesting as it’s written at the time when I had spent a month searching out videos for VideoTag and knew pretty much every popular video on there.

It sums up why I gave up on rss feeds to provide videos for VideoTag and why I cannot see a way that any version of the game would work synced directly to the YouTube api. The most watched/highly rated/most favourited videos are mostly music videos that are not going to benefit from the extra descriptions that tagging can provide as much as the amateur videos.

6 months on and the top 10 most watched of all time hasn’t really changed

  1. Evolution of Dance

  2. Avril Lavigne – Girlfriend

  3. Lo que tú Quieras Oír

  4. IMVU – http://www.IMVU.com

  5. Timbaland – Apologize – Official Music Video

  6. My Chemical Romance – Teenagers

  7. My Chemical Romance – Famous Last Words

  8. Timbaland – The Way I Are OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO

  9. Akon – “Don’t Matter”

  10. CANSEI DE SER SEXY – Music is My Hot Hot Sex

laughing baby has slipped to number 14.

Trying to harness people power and doing it successfully maybe proving people really will watch anything is some video about Britney Spears in a bikini. They want to be the most watched worst video of all time. Their intentions seem honourable, trying to rid the top 10 videos of music videos, but i couldn’t bring myself to watch anything about Britney once never mind 100 times a day.

And for the record, maybe it’s a British thing, but I didn’t even think the most watched video was that funny.

One response to “Why selecting videos for VideoTag is not as easy as you’d think.

  1. I’d love to converse more with you about popularity on YouTube. Something my students and I have been researching in my course, Learning from YouTube. Our reflections are quite critical: about the reign of corporate and hegemonic culture and popularity, but we even had a few projects on tagging, and false tagging. Alex

    http://www.youtube/mediapraxisme

Leave a comment